top of page

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

This video contains a brief overview of the Sacrament of Holy Orders

In this video you will learn about something called "the priesthood of all believers" (sometimes called the baptismal priesthood) and how the ordained priesthood is at the service of the baptismal priesthood.

The official hierarchy of the Catholic Church is determined by the sacrament of orders: bishops, priests, and deacons. This video will go into more detail about each of the different orders of ministry. 

Through the Sacrament of Holy Orders Jesus is Made Present 

The priest receives a special Sacrament by which, through the anointing of the Holy Spirit, he is conformed to Christ the Priest in such a way that he can act, in Persona Christi, that is, in the very Person of Jesus Christ.”

An answer to the question: "Why do we need priests?" 


Matrimony and holy orders enable individuals to direct their lives in a sacramental way for the salvation of others. Through service to others, they build up the Body of Christ according to their gifts and talents.


(You might need to look-up some of the symbols)

bottom of page